General

What are the system requirements for FluidSIM 6?

FluidSIM 6 runs on all versions of Windows 7 and later with .Net Framework 4 installed, including Windows 10 (both 32-bit and 64-bit). We recommend a dual processor and at least 2 GB of memory on 32-bit systems or 4 GB on 64-bit PCs.

For the use of the online licenses a permanent internet connection and access to the domains www.art-systems.de and www.shopsys.de is required.

To top

I don't use a Windows PC, but Linux, an Apple computer, a Chromebook or another device. How can I still use FluidSIM?

FluidSIM 6 is a native Windows program. There are several ways to use FluidSIM 6 on non-Windows PCs.

  • Parallel Windows Installation

    If you have a computer with an Intel CPU or a compatible AMD processor, the easiest way is to install Windows as an alternative operating system. On Apple computers with Intel CPU this is possible e.g. with “Boot Camp”. When starting the system, you can select which operating system you want to start. However, it is not possible to run Windows and macOS at the same time.

  • Windows in a virtual machine

    FluidSIM can be used under other operating systems by installing a virtual machine like “VMWare” (Mac, Linux) or “Parallels” (Mac) running Windows. This allows a simultaneous operation of the original operating system and FluidSIM in the virtual machine. New Apple computers with M1 processors are still special. These are not compatible with Intel processors, but “Parallels” is currently under development for these devices as well and should be available soon.

  • Remote Desktop

    If a Windows PC is available in the local network or via the Internet, FluidSIM can be operated on the remote PC via a “Remote Desktop” connection or remote maintenance software such as TeamViewer. This variant is suitable for all devices like Macs, Chromebooks, Linux PCs, Android tablets, etc.

  • WINE

    The free software WINE is not a true Windows emulation, but provides a compatibility layer that can run some Windows programs on Linux and macOS. Currently, however, this does not work very stable with FluidSIM. However, we are working on adaptations so that FluidSIM will run under WINE in the future.

  • Browser Version of FluidSIM

    More and more users say goodbye to the classic PC and use mobile devices or use mainly the internet browser. The underlying operating system becomes less important as time goes by. Thus, the trend is that many applications run directly in the browser. So far, the performance for a simulation program like FluidSIM is still too low, but a lot is changing in this respect, so that a FluidSIM variant as a web application (even with reduced features) seems to be realistic. We are watching this development with excitement and are already planning in this direction.

To top

Licensing / Installation

What types of licensing are available?

For FluidSIM 6 there are only two basic license variants:

  1. Full version You can use the licenses of the full version on any PC without any restrictions. You can choose whether you want to transfer your licenses to individual PCs, make the licenses available to several computers via a license server in the network, or use your licenses as online licenses via the internet. Depending on the requirements of your institution, you can switch flexibly between offline use without an internet connection and online use, which requires a permanent internet connection.

  2. Home Use version These are extension licenses to your existing full version licenses and can only be purchased and used if you have at least 10 full version licenses. These licenses are intended for your students to use FluidSIM at home on their own computers. Therefore, they can only be used as online licenses and cannot be bound locally to a specific PC. Furthermore, the use of these licenses in your institution is prohibited.

Generally, your licenses for FluidSIM 6 are always provided to you in digital form in a license ticket. You can use the ticket number of this license ticket to access your licenses, which are stored on the Festo license servers.

For a detailed explanation of the different ways to use your licenses, from local activation to online use, please watch the video Licensing management basics of the FluidSIM Youtube Playlist of Festo Didactics.

To top

Allgemeines

Welches sind die Systemvoraussetzungen für FluidSIM 6?

FluidSIM 6 läuft unter allen Windows-Versionen ab Windows 7 mit installiertem .Net Framework 4 einschließlich Windows 10 (sowohl 32-Bit als auch 64-Bit). Wir empfehlen einen Doppelprozessor und mindestens 2 GB Arbeitsspeicher auf 32-Bit-Systemen bzw. 4 GB auf 64-Bit-PCs.

Für die Nutzung der Online Lizenzen wird eine permananete Internetverbindung und Zugriff auf die Domains www.art-systems.de und www.shopsys.de benötigt.

Nach oben

Ich verwende keinen Windows-PC, sondern Linux, einen Apple-Computer, ein Chromebook oder ein anderes Gerät. Wie kann ich FluidSIM trotzdem verwenden?

FluidSIM ist ein reines Windows-Programm. Es gibt verschiedene Wege, um FluidSIM auch auf nicht-Windows-PCs zu nutzen.

  • Parallele Windows-Installation

    Sofern man einen Computer mit einer Intel-CPU oder einem kompatiblen AMD-Prozessor hat, besteht der einfachste Weg darin, Windows als alternatives Betriebssystem zu installieren. Auf Apple-Computern mit Intel-CPU geht das z.B. mit „Boot Camp“. Beim Systemstart lässt sich damit auswählen, welches Betriebssystem man starten möchte. Ein Parallelbetrieb von Windows und macOS ist damit allerdings nicht möglich.

  • Windows in einer virtuellen Maschine

    Unter anderen Betriebssystemen lässt sich FluidSIM verwenden, indem man eine virtuelle Maschine wie z.B. „VMWare“ (Mac, Linux) oder „Parallels“ (Mac) installiert, in der Windows läuft. Dadurch ist ein gleichzeitiger Betrieb des Original-Betriebssystems und FluidSIM in der virtuellen Maschine möglich. Eine Besonderheit stellen derzeit neue Apple Computer mit M1-Prozessor dar. Diese sind nicht mit Intel-Prozessoren kompatibel, aber auch für diese Geräte ist „Parallels“ gerade in Entwicklung und sollte bald verfügbar sein.

  • Remote Desktop

    Steht im lokalen Netzwerk oder über das Internet ein Windows-PC zur Verfügung, lässt sich FluidSIM auf dem entfernten PC über eine „Remote Desktop“-Verbindung oder Fernwartungs-Software wie z.B. TeamViewer bedienen. Diese Variante eignet sich für alle Geräte wie Macs, Chromebooks, Linux-PCs, Android Tablets, etc.

  • WINE

    Die kostenlose Software WINE ist keine echte Windows-Emulation, sondern stellt eine Kompatibilitätsschicht zur Verfügung, die manche Windows-Programme unter Linux und macOS ausführen kann. Zurzeit funktioniert dies leider nicht sehr stabil mit FluidSIM. Wir arbeiten jedoch an Anpassungen, damit FluidSIM künftig unter WINE läuft.

  • Browser-Version von FluidSIM

    Immer mehr Anwender verabschieden sich vom klassischen PC und setzen auf mobile Geräte oder nutzen vorwiegend den Internetbrowser. Das darunterliegende Betriebssystem spielt dabei eine immer geringere Rolle. Daher geht der Trend dahin, dass viele Anwendungen direkt im Browser laufen. Bislang ist die Rechenleistung für ein Simulationsprogramm wie FluidSIM zwar noch zu gering, allerdings ist in dieser Hinsicht gerade vieles im Umbruch, sodass eine (wenn auch im Umfang reduzierte) FluidSIM-Variante als Web-Anwendung allmählich realistisch erscheint. Wir beobachten diese Entwicklung mit Spannung und planen bereits in diese Richtung.

Nach oben

Lizenzierung

Welche Arten der Lizenzierung gibt es für FluidSIM 6?

Für FluidSIM 6 gibt es nur zwei grundlegende Lizenzvarianten:

  1. Vollversion
    Die Lizenzen der Vollversion können von Ihnen uneingeschränkt auf jedem PC genutzt werden. Sie haben dabei die Wahl, ob Sie Ihre Lizenzen auf einzelnene PCs übertragen, die Lizenzen über einen Lizenzserver im Netzwerk mehreren Computern zur Verfügung stellen oder ob Sie Ihre Lizenzen über das Internet als Online-Lizenzen nutzen. Je nach Anforderung in Ihrer Einrichtung können Sie flexibel zwischen einer Offline Nutzung ohne Internetverbindung und der Online Nutzung, welche eine permanente Internetverbindung benötigt, wechseln.

  2. Home Use Version
    Dies sind Erweiterungslizenzen zu Ihren bestehenden Vollversionlizenzen und können nur erworben und genutzt werden, wenn Sie mindestens 10 Vollversionlizenzen besitzen. Diese Lizenzen sind dafür gedacht, dass Ihre Schüler FluidSIM zu Hause auf dem eigenen Rechner nutzen können. Sie können daher nur als Online Lizenzen genutzt werden und nicht lokal an einen bestimmen PC gebunden werden. Ferner ist die Nutzung dieser Lizenzen in Ihrer Einrichtung untersagt.

Generell werden Ihnen Ihre Lizenzen für FluidSIM 6 immer in digitaler Form in einem Lizenzticket zur Verfügung gestellt. Über die Ticketnummer dieses Lizenztickets haben Sie Zugriff auf Ihre Lizenzen, die auf den Festo Lizenzservern gespeichert sind.

Eine anschauliche Erläuterung der verschiedenen Möglichkeiten der Nutzung Ihrer Lizenzen von lokaler Aktivierung bis Online Nutzung erhalten Sie im Video Grundlagen der Lizenzierung aus der FluidSIM Youtube Playlist von Festo Didactic.

Nach oben